Skip to content

Taking charge: professional development in the short term

05/17/2010

markvsql ( twitter | blog ) put up a great post today about professional development, as a response to Andy Warren’s ( twitter | blog ) webcast from last week on the same topic.

Two of the main points from the blog post/webcast that I wanted to quickly touch on are these:

  • No one is going to build your career for you. You have to take ownership of that yourself.
  • Building your career requires resources like time and sometimes money.

The timing of this topic bouncing around in the SQL Community is actually perfect.  I’ve been thinking about this a lot lately, as I’m looking for a new opportunity.  There have been a few jobs I’ve been presented with that were tempting, but not exactly what I wanted.  Brent Ozar’s (Twitter | Blog ) post made me think twice about making the wrong move.

If you follow me on twitter or read this blog, you’ll know that I’ve talked about getting two MCTS’ (432 & 433). It hasn’t been coming along as quickly as I’d like.  To help expedite the process, I’ll be taking classroom based courses for these two certs to light a fire under my *ahem*.  This is really where points above about taking charge AND  requiring resources comes into play. In this case it’s both my time AND money. I know it will pay off in many ways, though.

So, I’ll be starting a 12 day (36h) class for 70-432 next week. I would have preferred to take the 433 class first, because that’s what I’ve been studying for, but it wasn’t offered until early July.  Regardless, I’m pretty pumped about doing this! I know I’ll get a lot out of all of the interaction that a classroom setting brings,  much more than going through the book myself.  Plus, Ill have a few local people to study with!  After I get through that class, I’ll hopefully be able to pass the test on the first try…and move on to 70-433.  If I pass the dev test, I will have completed this year’s goals a whole 4 months ahead of schedule. 🙂

I’ll definitely be writing about my experiences, and hope you’ll follow along! 🙂

EDIT: 5/18 –  the 432 class was canceled, due to lack of enrollment. Bummer.  Still gonna move forward!

From → SQL Server

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

